A 1:1 draw was enough for FC Žalgiris at home as they eliminated KI Klaksvik 3:2 on aggregate in the UEFA Europa league first qualifying round.

Žalgiris scored the first goal just six minutes in as Rolandas Baravykas cross was finished off by Liviu Antal, who slided in to send the ball high in to the net. In an uneventfull first half, Žalgiris dominated possession, while the visitors were content to take up defensive positions.
As head coach Valdas Urbonas noted after the game, the early strike and a two-goal aggregate lead meant Žalgiris relaxed too much and KI Klaksvik made them pay in the second half.
The ball fell to Ronni Moller-Iversen around 20 meters from the goal and he unleashed a precise strike in to the corner beyond goalkeeper Džiugas Bartkus reach.
The goal meant Žalgiris had to wake up to avoid further problems and the hosts went searching for another goal. Substitute Louis Ogana run was thwarted by goalkeeper, while few minutes later he was denied by the post after winning a header in the box.
Klaksvik also had an opportunity after a corner as Hordur Askham fired over following a havoc in the box. Žalgiris responded with Ogana heading just wide, while Serge Nyuadzi was twice blocked by defenders in the box. Two minutes from time Mamadou Mbodj nearly got the winner as in the first leg, but the ball hit the crossbar again.

Žalgiris went through and will face FC Vaduz, a Liechtenstein side who plays in the Swiss second division, next. The first leg will be played on July 26 in Vilnius.


FC Žalgiris - KI Klaksvik 1:1 (1:0). Goals: 7 min. Liviu Antal; 65 min. R.Moller-Iverson.

„Žalgiris“: D.Bartkus, D.Slijngard, M.Tomič, M.Mbodji, R.Baravykas, S.Blagojevič, J.Manzorro (66 min. L. Ogana), T.Šimkovič, S.Mikoliūnas, Marquinhos (46 min. V.Filipov), L.Antal (35 min. S.Nyuiadzi). Substitutions: A.Vitkauskas, L.Klimavičius, D. Šimkus, T.Malec.
„KI Klaksvik“: K.Joensen, I.Simonsen, D.Pavlovič, H.Askham, O.Niclassen, R.Moller-Iversen (87 min. K.Jacobbsen), B.Došljak (75 min. J.Bjartalid), S.Hadzibulič, P.Klettskard, J.Danielsen, J.Andreasen. Atsargoje: M.Joensen, H.Elttor, J.Hognesen, O.Poulsen, S.Olsen.