Lithuanian champions FC Žalgiris overcame runners-up FC Trakai 1:0 at Vilnius Sportima to open the season with a victory in the Lithuanian Supercup. Overall, Žalgiris won their fifth Supercup in a row and their 15th title since 2012.

First official game of the season drew huge attention from supporters  almost 3000 spectators gathered in Sportima to see the Supercup match. Last year Žalgiris won 4:1, however, they needed overtime to do that. This time all questions were answered during the 90 minutes. First period of the game belonged to Žalgiris, but the opposition goalkeeper Ignas Plūkas came to his team’s rescue during the first half.

However, on 76 minutes, Plūkas made a costly mistake. He failed to gather a shot from Bahrudin Atajic and Mahamane Traore pounced on the rebound to score the only goal of the game. It was his first official game with Žalgiris and it couldn’t have gone any better than that. Trakai then tried to force the game into overtime, however, Žalgiris held on.
"It is very good to start a season with a Supercup. We have achieved one of our goals and now have to move on, get ready for the start of A league," said the player of the match Vytautas Lukša.

"It is never easy to play and win in a final. Trakai are a good team, they were prepared for this game and gave us a good fight. Although the result was only 1:0, I think we truly deserved this victory," told head coach of Žalgiris Valdas Dambrauskas.

Žalgiris will play the first game in A league on the 4th of March. The quest for a fifth champions title in a row Žalgiris will start in Klaipėda, against FK Atlantas.

Match statistics:

FC „Žalgiris“ 1:0 (0:0) „Trakai“

Goal: 77 min. M.Traore

„Žalgiris“: A.Vitkauskas, D.Slijngardas, L.Klimavičius, M.Mbodjis, E.Vaitkūnas, S.Blagojevičius, M.Kuklys, M.Ljujičius (46 min. B.Atajičius) V.Lukša (84 min. S.Mikoliūnas), Elivelto (66 min. M.Traore), D.Šernas.

„Trakai“: I.Plūkas, A.Wakili, J.Januševskis, A.Klimavičius, P.Krukas (83 min. S.Čyžas), D.Česnauskis (63 min. V.Borovskis), M.Šyška (46 min. A.Byčenokas), M.Vorobjovas (80 min. V.Šilėnas), J.Mamajevas (46 min. D.Kazubovičius), O.Dorley, T.Labukas.