FK Žalgiris Vilnius has suffered yet another unexpected defeat, this time Lithuanian champions were bettered by FK Jelgava, who won the game with a result 2:1 (0:0).

Despite all the efforts from both sides the first half ended with a scoreless result, bringing the action to the second act of the game.

Unluckily, the second half started with a wrong foot for the home team. Visitors opened the score sheet on the 51st minute of playing time, when Varner Zalaks completed a fantastic shot from a very tight angle.

The scenario got worse just a few minutes after that, when Jorge Chula fouled his opponent in penalty box and the referee didn’t hesitate to point to the spot. Andrej Kovalov was the one to take the shot and he doubled his teams’ lead, making it 2:0.

On the 83rd minute Linas Pilibaitis, who showed after a substitution, received a perfect pass from Yuri Kendysh and scored the only goal for his team. The game ended with a result 2:1 and opponents’ victory.

After the game FK Žalgiris head coach Valdas Dambrauskas said that the hardest thing during the match was adapting to the pressure leading to conceding first, which none of the Lithuanian clubs cannot offer in the national championship.

“We tried to dominate and had to take a risk that opponents will be able to counterattack us. But during the season we cannot be the ones who concede a goal first. We had the same problem last year that after the first goal it is hard for us to stand up again and turn the game around.

“We have to be confident, that no matter what we will create opportunities and take the lead before the game ends. I believe that before the start of the new season we will correct it”, - V. Dambrauskas said.

FK Žalgiris Vilnius – FK Jelgava 1:2 (0:0)

51‘ [0:1] Verners Zalaks
56‘ [0:2] Andrej Kovalov
83‘ [1:2] Linas Pilinbaitis

FK Žalgiris Vilnius line-up: Armantas Vitkauskas, Donovan Slijngard, Linas Klimavičius, Mamadou Mbodj, Egidijus Vaitkūnas, Yuri Kendysh, Marin Matoš (81‘ Daniel Romanovskij), Elivelto (63‘ Vytautas Lukša), Saulius Mikoliūnas (70‘ Linas Pilibaitis), Jorge Chula (63‘ Tautvydas Eliošius), Bahrudin Atajic (77‘ Justas Lasickas).